Updated: Election Coming for ARM User Executive Committee

Published: 14 September 2022

Make your voice heard: Submit nominations by September 16

Graphic of check mark on ballotThe nomination deadline has been extended to Friday, September 16, for the Atmospheric Radiation Measurement (ARM) user facility’s User Executive Committee (UEC).

The UEC serves as the official voice of the user community in its interactions with ARM management. Members are charged with providing objective, timely advice and recommendations to ARM leadership and serving as contacts for ARM users to voice their thoughts.

The UEC is made up of scientific users of ARM data selected according to popular vote by other ARM users. The committee includes representatives from a range of science disciplines served by ARM. These representatives serve four-year terms.

Also, the UEC includes an early career representative, so as you consider nominations, please think about proposing a student candidate currently pursuing a PhD or an early career scientist who is within five years of obtaining a PhD as of January 1, 2023. The early career representative may be associated with any of the science themes and will serve a two-year term.

Currently, 14 UEC members represent constituents from 10 science domains and cross-cutting themes (see the UEC Charter). The members leaving the committee at the end of the current two-year election cycle are Allison Aiken, Daniel Feldman, Scott Giangrande, Xiaohong Liu, Christina McCluskey, Art Sedlacek, Adam Varble, and Paquita Zuidema.

Nominations are the first in a two-part process to select new committee members. Following the nomination phase, an election will be held during the latter half of October 2022. Terms for elected members shall begin January 1, 2023.

Submit your nominations through this form.

# # #

ARM is a DOE Office of Science user facility operated by nine DOE national laboratories.