Aerosol Measurement Science Group


The ARM Aerosol Measurement Science Group (AMSG) coordinates Atmospheric Radiation Measurement (ARM) user facility observations of aerosols and atmospheric trace gases with user needs to ensure advanced, well-characterized observational measurements and data products—at the spatial and temporal scales necessary—for improving climate science and model forecasts.

Organizational Structure

The AMSG reports to the ARM Technical Director and is made up of experts from across ARM and the atmospheric science community.

Current AMSG members include:

  • Allison McComiskey, AMSG Co-Chair
  • Connor Flynn, AMSG Co-Chair
  • Allison Aiken, Science Representative, ARM Mobile Facility Aerosol Operations
  • Jerome Fast, Science Representative
  • John Shilling, Science Representative, ARM Aerosol Data Translator
  • Gannet Hallar, Science Representative
  • Chongai Kuang, Science Representative
  • Tim Onasch, Science Representative
  • Arthur Sedlacek, Science Representative
  • Nicole Riemer, Atmospheric System Research (ASR) Aerosol Processes Working Group Co-Chair
  • Jim Smith, ASR Aerosol Processes Working Group Co-Chair
  • Ranjeet Devarakonda, ARM Data Center
  • Fred Helsel, North Slope of Alaska Site Operations
  • Mike Ritsche, Southern Great Plains Observatory Manager
  • Alyssa Sockol, ARM Data Quality Office
  • Adam Theisen, ARM Instrument Operations Manager